Sui Yung Chan

National University of Singapore, Singapore
Lecture Title: 
"Medication dysphagia: focus group pilot study on pharmacists' knowledge, attitudes & practices"

As the Associate Professor and Head of NUS Department of Pharmacy from 2005-12, her contributions included initiating and overseeing the development and expansion of the existing BSc (Pharmacy) & PhD by research as well as new pharmacy programmes, namely post-BS PharmD, MSc (Pharmaceutical Science & Technology), Minor in Pharmaceutical Science programmes, NUS Academy of GxP Excellence (NUSAGE), AAPS-NUS Student Chapter, Interprofessional Education, Community Health Angels Mentoring Programme (CHAMP), Pre-Employment Clinical Training (PECT) and Biobiz with the support of the local and overseas academics, social workers and health practitioners, biomedical industry, the Economic Development Board of Singapore, Ministry of Health and our alumni. She also served as the Asst Dean (Budget & Operations), Faculty of Science (2003-5), a member of Senate Delegacy (2004-5, 2013-7), Institutional Laboratory Safety Committee (2008-16) and Board of Student Discipline (2014-7) at NUS.

She has supervised 25 PhD, 112 MSc and Year 4 Research Project students, authored more than 110 peer reviewed publications. She has been the Principal and Co-investigator of research grants exceeding SGD 5 million.

As the ex-officio member of the Singapore Pharmacy Council, Ministry of Health from 2005-2012, she actively participated in the drafting of the new Pharmacist Registration Act to its implementation when the Singapore Pharmacy Council was corporatized as a statutory board in 2008. Chan contributed to the Council’s major achievements - implementation of the Continuing Professional Education framework, Preceptorship and Mentoring framework, the Pharmacist’s Oath, the Competency Examination as part of the entry requirements for all new pre-registration pharmacists and overseas pharmacists into the pharmacy profession in Singapore and the world’s first Specialist Register for pharmacists.

She was elected Fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Singapore in 2013 and received The Long Service Medal, Ministry of Education, 2020 National Day Awards, Singapore.